Ch A Twelve-Tone Scale, Including All The Semitones Of The Octave, Is Called:

half step Smallest interval used in the Western system; the octave divides into twelve such intervals; on the piano, the distance between any two adjacent keys, whether black or white. Also semitone.

You are watching: A twelve-tone scale, including all the semitones of the octave, is called:

Page 20

chromatic/chromatic scale Melody or harmony built from many if not all twelve semitones of the octave. A chromatic scale consists of an ascending or descending sequence of semitones.

See more: What Does ' Don T Say I Never Gave You Anything ' Mean?

Page 20

sharp (sign) Musical symbol (#) that indicates raising a pitch by a semitone.

See more: Which Of The Following Statements Is True About Strategic Groups?

Page 21

flat (sign) Musical symbol (b) that indicates lowering a pitch by a semitone.Page 21
whole step Interval consisting of two half steps, or semitones.Page 21
key Defines the relationship of tones with a common center or tonic. Also a lever on a keyboard or woodwind instrument.Page 21
diatonic Melody or harmony built from the seven tones of a major or minor scale. A diatonic scale encompasses patterns of seven whole tones and semitones. A diatonic scale encompasses patterns of seven whole tones and semitones.Page 22
pentatonic Five-note pattern used in some African, Far Eastern, and Native American musics; can also be found in Western music as an example of exoticism.Page 23
tritonic Three-note scale pattern, used in the music of some sub-Saharan African cultures.Page 23
heptatonic Seven-note scale; in non-Western musics, often fashioned from a different combination of intervals than major and minor scales.Page 23
microtone Musical interval smaller than a semitone, prevalent in some non-Western musics and in some twentieth-century art music.Page 23
inflection Small alteration of the pitch by a microtonal interval. See also blue note.Page 23
active chords In the diatonic system, chords which need to resolve the tonic chord. These include the dominant chord and the subdominant chord.Page 24
rest chord A chord that achieves a sense of resolution or completion, normally the tonic.Page 24
dominant The fifth scale step, sol.Page 24
subdominant The fourth scale step, fa.Page 24
modulation The process of changing from one key to another.Page 24
transposition Shifting a piece of music to a different pitch level.Page 24


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *